|
|  |
 |
Members: 4,556
Threads: 15,627
Posts: 195,379
Online: 195
Newest Member:
Akula |
|
|
| Information Requests Doing research? Working on a project? Need Help? Ask Here. |

March 9th, 2007, 10:50 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK (Australian expat)
Posts: 113
|
|
Is it Genuine?
Just bought this cap badge on eBay.
As you can see ( http://www.156squadron.com/capbadge.html ) it has what appears to be a Pathfinder Badge attached.
But is it genuine?
Is there any way of identifying a genuine from a fake?
The Cap badge itself is of high quality and the pathfinder badge appears to be copper based with gold paint.
Final question, what is the significance (if any) of the dual leaves under the badge, is this a rank symbol, if so what ?
Thanks
Robin Riley www.156Squadron.com
__________________
|

March 9th, 2007, 11:13 AM
|
 |
Acting Wg. Cdr. 
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,004
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
I'm not altogether sure that is a 'genuine' WWII PFF badge, Robin. Certainly, this is a real one...
Note the difference to the top edge of the wings. However, post-war copies usually do not have such fine detailing of the feathers, which yours has.
I've put 'genuine' in inverted commas because the subject of PFF badges is quite thorny. It was an 'unofficial' award and certainly most were manufactured by Gaunt's in London. However, there is no mark on the actual badge and I believe that other manufacturers also produced them. So unless you're fortunate enough to find one on its original card backing it's virtually impossible to be certain....
As to the rest of your most interesting badge, I haven't a clue and would like to know the answer myself !
__________________
"Stand by to pull me out of the seat if I get hit" - Guy Gibson
|

March 9th, 2007, 11:58 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK (Australian expat)
Posts: 113
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
Thanks for your input Martin, and the Photo for comparison!
You are certainly getting your money's worth out of the new toy! (Liked the Mossie pics).
I had my doubts about originality, but it is an attractive item and at 5 quid I could not risk the temptation.
According to my calculations you now have several of these badges? Did not one come with the famous "scarf"
I have had an enquiry from a collector for a photo of a genuine badge, is it OK if I send him yours?
Regards
Robin
__________________
|

March 9th, 2007, 03:41 PM
|
 |
Acting Wg. Cdr. 
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,004
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
No problem, Robin - please feel free to use my pic....
I actually have two - as you said, one came with the scarf and I assume it's genuine ; but have no proof. The one on the original card I'm sure is the real thing. I also have a cheap current copy which looks OK until you put it under a magnifying glass - the edges and detail aren't quite as 'sharp'.....
__________________
"Stand by to pull me out of the seat if I get hit" - Guy Gibson
|

March 12th, 2007, 12:50 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK (Australian expat)
Posts: 113
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
Forrest
Thanks for the comprehensive reply.
The badge was not described as Pathfinder on eBay, it just looked to me that it might have been.
Oh well back to the search.
Regards
Robin www.156Squadron.com
__________________
|

March 12th, 2007, 06:45 AM
|
 |
Acting Wg. Cdr. 
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,004
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
__________________
"Stand by to pull me out of the seat if I get hit" - Guy Gibson
|

June 1st, 2007, 09:03 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northampton
Posts: 16
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
Hi Robin,
The only real Pathfinder Badge is one which has a letter or certificate signed by AVM Don Bennett with it. If you would like to see badges, letters or certificates please let me know. I'm the curator of the RAF Wyton Path Finder Force Museum and therefore have access to quite a few of them.
|

June 3rd, 2007, 08:59 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK (Australian expat)
Posts: 113
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
Shack,
You guys seem to have hidden your light under a bushell?
Did not even know that such an museum existed!
Looks VERY interesting.
http://www.raf.mod.uk/rafbramptonwyt...pathfinder.cfm
I am currently doing a major upgrade (not yet published) on Pathfinder casualties covering all Squadrons in Group 8, both aircraft and personnel, which may be of interest to you. I will let you know when it is is published.
Regards
Robin www.156Squadron.com
__________________
|

June 3rd, 2007, 10:43 AM
|
 |
Acting Wg. Cdr. 
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,004
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
Thanks for posting the link, Robin - I'd never heard of it, either ! 
__________________
"Stand by to pull me out of the seat if I get hit" - Guy Gibson
|

June 3rd, 2007, 12:36 PM
|
 |
Kenraali 
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kotka, Finland
Posts: 13,459
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
The site looks very interesting, thanx Robin!
__________________
|

June 4th, 2007, 07:02 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northampton
Posts: 16
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
The museum has been on the go for ten years now!! Although the past year has seen it going from strength to strength.
I put the website together six months ago, initially for our intranet site, and only the past month or so has it been put to the internet, I would be gratefull of any comments or things I may have missed.
I have access to most Squadron F540's and have a copy of 156 Sqn's on display in the museum at the moment. Funny to see that they are all marked 'SECRET' and with the testament of time are now open for a good read.
|

June 4th, 2007, 07:06 AM
|
 |
Acting Wg. Cdr. 
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,004
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
I feel a WWII Forums Coach Trip may be on the cards..... 
__________________
"Stand by to pull me out of the seat if I get hit" - Guy Gibson
|

June 4th, 2007, 09:08 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northampton
Posts: 16
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
You'll be more than welcome. All I'll need is details of who's coming and vehicle registration. This is needed as the museum is 'inside the wire' a swe say.
|

June 4th, 2007, 08:16 PM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK (Australian expat)
Posts: 113
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
OK lets suggest some dates.
Personally, I am not available any week days. ....
Some of us have to work. !!!!
Any chance of the morning of the 30th June, I need to be near Cambridge that day.
Hope I don't need a Security Clearance?
I am an ALIEN after all. (Even tho I am currently working for the NEW Ministry of Justice)
Regards
Robin www.156Squadron.com
__________________
|

June 5th, 2007, 03:44 PM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northampton
Posts: 16
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
It would have to be after 10 am as I need to get here and that takes an hour. Evenings are also a possibility as I'm in there tonight from 7:30 with 20 guests!!! Just let me know
|

June 6th, 2007, 06:09 PM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK (Australian expat)
Posts: 113
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
Shack
Thanks very much for the offer.
Whatever time is convenient to you would be fine with me. Hope I am not intruding on your time off ?
I will be driving up from London and have an appointment early in the evening south of Cambridge, so again, whatever time fits for you would be fine with me.
Would be more than happy to fund you a lunch in a nearby pub of your choice, either before or after the visit.
What about you Martin? Can you attend? Or for that matter is anyone else interested?
Regards
Robin www.156Squadron.com
__________________
|

June 7th, 2007, 06:47 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northampton
Posts: 16
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
Robin, not a problem. If you get together with who wants to come along, give me their details and I'll sort that out at this end and I'll be here.
|

June 10th, 2007, 07:26 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK (Australian expat)
Posts: 113
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
Shack
Martin has indicated that can attend and I may have another person.
What details do you need. Is the time set at 10.00am.
Regards
Robin
__________________
|

June 10th, 2007, 07:39 AM
|
 |
Acting Wg. Cdr. 
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: London
Posts: 9,004
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
About time we had a WWII Forums Official Visit !   
__________________
"Stand by to pull me out of the seat if I get hit" - Guy Gibson
|

June 11th, 2007, 07:02 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northampton
Posts: 16
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
Hi Robin, I need names, make of vehicle and registration details and approx time of arrival at the Main gate. Lastly a firm date of your visit. If over a luch time I can possibly get lunch in the Sgt's mess for a small fee, around £2.00 per head. Hope this is OK.
Kind regards
Shack
|

June 12th, 2007, 02:38 AM
|
 |
Alte Hase 
|
|
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 9,925
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
not sure if this is allowed Shack but is it possible for you or another to post images of inside the museum for all of us to see here on the forums that cannot share the excitement of being there...........I wish !
E ~
|

June 12th, 2007, 07:01 AM
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Northampton
Posts: 16
|
|
Re: Is it Genuine?
Hi Erich, Yea I'll get my camera and take some pics! Have you had a look at the wesite? I can also send you a museum booklet if you so wish. Just let me know.
Kind regards
Shack
|

June 12th, 2007, 05:36 PM
|
 |
Alte Hase 
|
|
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 9,925
| | |