Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

792nd AAA AW information

Discussion in 'Military Service Records & Genealogical Research' started by Powelltc1, Jul 23, 2018.

1. Powelltc1

Powelltc1 New Member

Hello! This is my first post on the forum, and I really appreciate in advance any help that the community here can give me. I am just getting into WWII history, and am trying to learn more about my grandpa’s unit, but I can’t find much.

He was assigned to the HQ battery of the 792nd AAA AW. He was in charge of running telephone wire as a field, lineman. I know he was in Normandy, Northern France, Ardennes, Rhineland, and Central Europe.

I am trying to find out any unit history I can. Were they assigned to the First Army? What wave did they land in Normandy and what beach? I can’t figure out what his chain of command would have been, What their path through Europe was, what weapon would he have carried, etc. My grandpa was in my eyes the best man I have ever known, and I am trying to learn more about what he did in the war as he couldn’t remember many of the details.

Thanks again for any help you can provide my family and I!

Jeremy

2. lwd

lwd Ace

Powelltc1 likes this.
  3. Powelltc1

Powelltc1 New Member

4. Powelltc1

Powelltc1 New Member

The first link, “Air Defense Artillery” has unit histories and looks awesome, but does not go numerically past the 562nd. I am having trouble finding much on the 792nd. Through a lot of research yesterday, here is what I think is true:

Part of the Fifth Corps
    First Army from June 6, 1944- May 8, 1945
    Ninth Air Defense Command

I got this from Army newsletters put out during the war. Not sure if someone knows if this is accurate or not. I also believe he carried the .30 carbine based on a diary entry from another field lineman (641).

5. lwd

lwd Ace

Your best shot for someone actually knowing the details is Rich. Hopefully he'll be along before too long.

6. RichTO90