Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Bombing of concentration camps?

Discussion in 'Air War in Western Europe 1939 - 1945' started by luketdrifter, Apr 6, 2009.

1. luketdrifter

luketdrifter Ace

There was a letter to the editor in my local news paper today that the author commented on two raids on German slave labor camps. July 7,1944 flight of 452 bombers over Auschwitz and the targeting of slave labor camps near Buchenwald on August 24th 1944. This is the first I've ever heard of this and wonder A) is it true? And B) Why? Seems like it would be a waste of resources given the impercision of percision bombing. Can anyone shed some insight on this for me?

2. LRusso216

LRusso216 Graybeard Staff Member

While I am far from an expert on this topic, it seems highly unlikely to me that this occurred. I did some quick research, and most of what I found says that, while some pressed for these kinds of attacks, many others could see no purpose in attacking places that would ultimately kill far more innocent people than those who were waging war. As a starting point I would look over this site.
    Auschwitz (concentration camp, Poland) :: Supplemental Information -- Britannica Online Encyclopedia

I'll wait to be corrected by others, but I just can't imagine that, if it happened, it wouldn't be documented somewhere. Do you know anything about the letter writer? It's possible he had an agenda he was trying to advance.

luketdrifter likes this.
  3. Slipdigit

Slipdigit Good Ol' Boy Staff Member WW2|ORG Editor

There is a long thread on this somewhere in the forum from Autumn 2007. I'll try to find it.

4. BWilson

BWilson Member

The 8/24 raid could have been off-target bombers -- Weimar (very close to Buchenwald) was a target that day:

(from Air War Web Portal: USAAF 8th Air Force Chronicles August 1944)

Found this in Wikipedia re: the 7 July bombing:

from Auschwitz bombing debate - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Cheers