Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Chilling and strange WWII photo in my possesion. Need answers.

Discussion in 'Information Requests' started by Schella, Dec 31, 2007.

1. Schella

Schella recruit

Hello, I came across this original photo in a flee market outside Halifax, Nova Scotia a few years ago. The man that I bought it from said he got it from a family from Lunenburg, which is close to Halifax and contains a lot of families of German descent. The photo has perplexed me and many that I have shown it to over the years and now I show all of you on this forum this weird photo.

I still don't know if it is fake or real, but from the people I have talked to at my university in the photo department say it is authentic and from the period of the war. I am a 26 year old Canadian and I have no WWII experience except the stories and history I have read and my grandfathers stories, but besides that I have exhausted all my knowledge I can on this photo.

Some things over the years I have come across about this odd and chilling photo.

-it seems staged... The situation is almost too visceral. And it seems that the German is possibly persuading the Russian to surrender?
    -The photo itself is authentically from the period, but this can be reproduced.
    -Some have suggested it is in the Balkans due to the soil and trees, and Russian/German trench standoff.
    -The soldiers weapons seems to be switched, the Russian seems to have a German smg, where the German seems to have a Russian PPSH.
    -The chipped bark on the trees seems to be consistent with ordnance exchanges in that terrain.
    -If you look closely at the Russians hand you can clearly see where he had a ring on and took it off and the skin that was covered by the ring is lighter as would happen with dirt or sun tan.