Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Co. A, 117th Infantry, 30th Division

Discussion in 'Information Requests' started by Kai, Sep 28, 2017.

1. Kai

Kai New Member

Hey Everyone,
    Iooking for info about Co. A, 117th infantry 30th Division in Holland and Germany. My Grandfather was wounded in action Sept. 12th 1944 in Holland and April 12th 1945 in Germany. I'm attempting to find any information possible about these dates (location of Co. A on these dates, reports, journal entries, etc.). Where would be a good place to start my research regarding this? He had told me that he was a combat engineer in Normandy before being transferred to an infantry combat team where he remained throughout the duration of his time over there. I have no other info about who he was with within Co. A. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I am new to this research process and am having trouble finding where I should even start :/

Thanks,
    Kai

2. Slipdigit

Slipdigit Good Ol' Boy Staff Member WW2|ORG Editor

Dig through this site. You will probably find all you want.

30th Infantry Division

On 12 Serpt.,A/117th crossed the Maas River, at Vise, south of Maastricht and pushed north, capturing the city.

I'll have to look, but on April 12, the 117th was in Central Germany, chasing remnants of the Germany Army. The train at Farsleben was liberated that day, but I think it was the 119th and 743rd Tank Battalion. Look through the links I provided you and you will probably find what you are looking for. Look for After Action Reports.

3. TD-Tommy776

TD-Tommy776 Man of Constant Sorrow

Kai, I found him listed on the 30th Division roster on website link provided by Slipdigit. His listing contains the General Order reference for his Silver Star as well as the text from the citation: