Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

General guidelines for re-enacting and living history impressions

Discussion in 'Living History' started by Stefan, May 27, 2003.

1. Stefan

Stefan Cavalry Rupert

General Guidelines for Re-enactors

I am by no means an expert on re-enacting and living history, but what I would like to do is explain a few things that I feel that re-enactors often forget but which add to ones ‘impression’. These are based on my own experience in re-enacting in the UK and my impression of re-enacting in the US (based on conversations with US re-enactors and articles I have read elsewhere) and are, for the most part, quite simple things that many people fail to do and which to my mind mess up an otherwise excellent impression. If anyone reading this has anything to add feel free to do so in however much detail you believe to be appropriate.

Part one: Think soldier

At an event a little while ago I was talking to a couple of chaps from another unit about improving impressions and one piece of advice that was offered to any re-enactor was ‘think soldier’. Basically this refers to the way one moves and acts when in uniform and to my mind is one of the most important things for any re-enactor. All too often I will see re-enactors who are wearing perfect uniforms but have their hands in pockets or pens in their top pockets, something you will hardly ever see soldiers do. There are several areas of ones deportment, which a re-enactor should consider:

Headdress: