Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Good airbrushes

Discussion in 'Modelling' started by Bomber Harris, Apr 24, 2009.

1. Bomber Harris

Bomber Harris Member

OK - I've searched for this, but I couldn't find anything, so I apologise if it has been asked before. And thanks for any replies in advance!

I have been painting models for years, but only airfix and revell and using hand held paintbrushes, and only to an elementary level. I played warhammer a few years ago and could paint those models to quite a high standard, and want to get to the same level with normal modelling.

the first task I have set myself is to become familiar with airbrushing; this is something I have never done before, but would like to be good at. so, with this in mind, does anyone know of any good airbrushes I can buy? Also, is there a particular type or brand of paints that work especially well in airbrushes?

Lastly, does anyone of any guides to airbrushing, or have any tips they could give me?

Thanks for any help :)

2. von Poop

von Poop Waspish

Iwata, no question (In my opinion).
    I was suspicious of so many glowing reviews, but having bought cheaper ones in the past and been disappointed I've not regretted the Iwata for one second.
    Put paint in the top, no matter what consistency, and it sprays out the front. Easy to clean (very important), and completely reliable.

Cheers (and welcome aboard),
    Adam.

Bomber Harris likes this.
  3. Bomber Harris

Bomber Harris Member

Thanks, and thanks for the welcome too :D

I got this info much quicker than I expected; I'll have a a hunt around for a reasonably priced one. I really want to get down to modelling again as soon as possible, so i'm going to surf the net for one now.

Any other hints, tips, opinions on airbrushes etc. anyone can give are greatly appreciated ;)

4. von Poop

von Poop Waspish