Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Hello I would like to share some photos.

Discussion in '☆☆ New Recruits ☆☆' started by Shawn Luther, Nov 22, 2018.

?

I just want to share these with people who understand what they are and may like to see them.

1. Aircraft

1 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. Information

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Shawn Luther

Shawn Luther New Member

Hello from Oklahoma. I would like to share a collection of photographs from the film of a veteran I believe was a member of the 12th Airforce, 321st Bombardment Group in the Mediterranean Theater of Operations during WWII.

I found the film in a most unusual way. I am a professional photographer and I have a passion for all things having to do with the art form. One day, back in 2003, during a lunch break from the photo lab where I worked, I went into a small antique store to have a look around. I made a habit of visiting this particular store many times in the past. They knew me well and I often talked to the lady who ran the place at length about the kinds of items I would buy. This way she could keep an eye out and call if anything showed up. I procured several antique cameras this way.

Today I was just bored and browsing when I ran across a plastic bag in a box full items. I looked in the bag and saw it contained old Kodak film cans. I knew from looking at them they were from the early 40’s. I picked one out and opened it up. It was empty. I collected old film cans so I asked the lady what she wanted for the whole sack. I bought them for five dollars and went back to work.

When I got home later I took the bag of film cans to my darkroom and placed them in a box under a table. As it happens in life sometimes my life took a turn that took me away from my interest in photography for awhile.