Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Help...Fake or real ???

Discussion in 'Uniforms, Personal Gear (Kit) and Accessories' started by deluxearts, Jan 9, 2009.

1. deluxearts

deluxearts recruit

2. dengwill

dengwill Member

Looks pretty real to me, I'm not sure if you can fake rust like that! The guy seems to be selling off his collection and seems pretty genuine. It has been repainted though, so I don't know if that affects anything???

3. deluxearts

deluxearts recruit

thanks...same that I tought...the seller states that it was repainted, but that still its an original...looks pretty real to me specially on the inside ! I would appreciate any other opinions please !

4. Kai-Petri

Kai-Petri Kenraali

I suggest you ask the opinion from this site:

Board Message

( militariacollecting.com )

They know, they definitely know...

5. C.Evans

C.Evans Expert

Looks good to me. Im no expert but have owned two M-42 shells, and a complete M-35 DD LW Helmet in the past.

6. drgeorge

drgeorge Member

My most recent purchase--it hasn't arrived yet! The seller maintains that it is real even though the price was suspiciously low (5000 HUF=$25). I looked it up on a couple auction sites, and all seems okay, but.....I'd like to ask all of your opinions on the matter!! Still not too late to renig on the sale if there's a problem..........:eek:

Attached Files:

7. Skipper

Skipper Kommodore

8. C.Evans

C.Evans Expert

Sorry to say but, your Narvik Shield is crap. Some things to look at are the casting marks on both sides as well as there appears to not be indications that it had four backing prongs. I have two examples of this shield-both Army and Navy examples. I can't post pics of mine to compare with or I would do so- which BTW, have all four prongs intact, as well as their backing plates, backing material and paper.

drgeorge likes this.
  9. Skipper

Skipper Kommodore