Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

HELP ME ID THIS PLEASE!

Discussion in 'Information Requests' started by jaya8402, Jul 6, 2009.

1. jaya8402

jaya8402 recruit

Hi, I am a firefighter in Tiverton, RI. We were called to a scene today for an aerial bomb that was uncovered and I cant find any infomration on it. The bomb squad leader said he believed it to be a WWII Aerial Ordinance, its about 8 inches long, any information or links would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again.

Jay :confused:

Attached Files:

2. zippo

zippo Member

3. Slipdigit

Slipdigit Good Ol' Boy Staff Member WW2|ORG Editor

4. texson66

texson66 Ace

5. Skipper

Skipper Kommodore

The shape fits with U.S. rounds , but they usually have more finns on the tail section. What about a Russian cold war area Mortar used in Korea? The simple conception makes me think of something from the East block . This is a guess as well, not a certitude, it's hard to guess with the rust and without knowing weight and dimensions.

Here is a pic of modern Russian mortars and they look quite familiar.

[​IMG]

6. C.Evans

C.Evans Expert

Could be a WWII practice bomb. I can't see it well enough to say but, we used to find these al the time near and around Rivera Beach when I was in the Boy Scouts and when our troop uised to go camping near there. We found several of these complete and broken-and they were about 9 inches long. If you have or had a NAS or AAC training base somewhere in the area during the war-these could quite possibly be a training bomb.

7. OpanaPointer

OpanaPointer I Point at Opana Staff Member Patron   WW2|ORG Editor

Navy Practice Bomb?
    3 lb. Mks. 3, 4; AN Mk 5 and AN-Mk 23, 43
    8.25 in.
    2.18 in.

8. spotter

spotter Member

USA practice airdropped bomb ,would have/could still contain a spotting charge

Attached Files:

zippo likes this.
  9. zippo

zippo Member