Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Jakov Djugashvili Stalin

Discussion in 'History of Russia during World War II' started by Jim, Apr 25, 2007.

1. Jim

Jim Active Member

via War44
    Stalin's son Jakov Djugashvili, prisoner of war (centre). Jakov, an engineer by profession, a senior lieutenant and battery commander of he 14th Howitzer Regiment, attached to the 14th Tank Division, was captured on 16th July 1941 near Vitebsk. On discovering that their prisoner was Stalin's son, the Germans attempted to exploit him for propaganda purposes, but did not succeed. Refusing privileges, he asked to remain with the rank-and-file soldiers. In all the photographs of Jakov, he deliberately refused to look directly at the camera.

[​IMG]

2. Dave War44

Dave War44 Member

via War44
    I would say all that makes him a hell of a guy and a true people's soldier. Another excellent photo and I'll have to find out what happened to him next and after the war if he survived ?

3. Jim

Jim Active Member

via War44
    Same thought here Dave, what happened to this guy after the War, there must be a story out there.. :wtf:

4. Dave War44

Dave War44 Member

via War44
    I still haven't looked up his story but what gets me the most with what little I know about this seeming hero is that they say :
    "The apple doesn't fall far from the tree"
    ;) :lol:

5. Jim

Jim Active Member

via War44
    Long awaited!! :wtf:

Stalin’s son, Jakov Djugashvili Stalin was an engineer by profession, During the Second World War, he served as a senior lieutenant and battery commander of the 14th Howitzer Regiment, attached to the 14th Tank Division and was captured on 16 July 1941 near Vitebsk by the Nazis.