Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Looking for any helpful info on my Grandfather.

Discussion in 'Information Requests' started by Holly, Oct 26, 2011.

1. Holly

Holly Member

I am a newbie to most military language/jargon so bear with me. My Grandfather is from Bremen, Germany and on a trip with a cousin to Dallas, Texas he met my Grandmother, an American citizen, they fell in love and she went to Bremen and they married. Then he was drafted into the German Army. I have a couple of pictures, and a small amt. of a paper trail but we know his last letter was from what he called the, H.K.L. Hauptkampflinie. the end of the letter is signed, Private W. Heckmann, APO no.59693D He mentions he is in a small bunker, and after 4 days of rest at the rear his feet are somewhat better, but he is sick of it all. My Grandma also said his feet were frozen. The top of the letter is dated 16th day of February, 1945 and Kurland before the date. I am trying to scan the 3 docs that I have. His full name is: Wilhelm Heckmann Lehde
    BD. 31 Dec. 1908
    Any info would be very much appreciated! Holly View attachment 14762

Attached Files:

2. Krystal80

Krystal80 Member

I hope someone can help you. I was able to get help with 4 relatives from the nice people here and found out about all there was available about them, I'm sure someone will offer some knowledge.

3. Clementine

Clementine Member

Welcome, Holly. Hope to hear more about your parents. I am curious about your grandmother being American and married to a German soldier in WWII. A difficult situation, I would imagine.

Good luck with your searching.

4. LRusso216

LRusso216 Graybeard Staff Member

I don't read German, but I'm sure that one of our German readers/speakers will tell you what everything says. Good luck.

5. Holly

Holly Member

Thanks Krystal.

6. Holly

Holly Member