Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Military Cable Channel: fact or fiction? Famous Tank Battles of wwII

Discussion in 'Weapons & Technology in WWII' started by humblejohn, Apr 17, 2011.

Tags:
  1. humblejohn

humblejohn recruit

I am a novice but I read a lot of books on WWII. I watch the military cable channel a lot. Lately, I have had stomach cramps watching the series-"Famous tank battles". They appear to be informative and factual but I wonder.

Tank personnel narrate the series but they seem to be coming up with some incredible stories especially about the Sherman tank and the German Panther and Tigers.
    The narrators state that Shermans were able to disable or destroy Panther tanks with a single shot! In several other cases where the tanks were facing each other it is claimed that German tank shells "bounced off" Shermans. I have read, for example, that it took at least 3 Shermans, attacking from the rear, to disable or damage a Tiger. As far as I can see the Sherman was pretty much under-gunned and dangerous to crews.

I am not even sure whether a Sherman, with a direct hit to the undercarriage of the German tanks, could do any damage. Even if the Sherman was "useful" the volecity and range of its guns were tepid. I think some had hi-volecity shells but I am not sure.

My feeling is that the German equipment was far superior to anything the allies had in a lot of areas and the reason the Germans suffered so many tank defeats towards the end of the war was the greater number of Shermans. The ants eventually devoured the elephants.

2. brndirt1

brndirt1 Saddle Tramp