Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

My grandfather - VIII Army Corps, please help!

Discussion in 'Information Requests' started by mellybee88, Nov 26, 2010.

Tags:
  1. mellybee88

mellybee88 recruit

Hey all,

I'm a 22-year-old grad student interested in WWII history on the side. Right now I've become very interested in learning more about my grandfather's military experience during the war. However, he died before I was born, and according to my grandmother he never liked to talk about his experiences much so I have very little to work with.

Earlier this evening I was telling my grandmother about my interest in his story, and it blew my mind when she pulled out an old beat-up wooden box from the back of her closet. Inside was an amazing collection of his war memorabilia - including German army souvenirs, parts of his gear, medals, a diary with a few entries, almost 30 thumbnail-size photos that he took during time in France (ie. Bastogne)...

To pinpoint his infantry division (he was a Warrant Officer in the Army, was a civilian accountant before), I have:

a) a large scroll-out photo of a large Army group (maybe 100-150 people?) complete with alphabetical roll and indicates the commanding officers and their names as well. No date or location indicated.

b) a typed-up list of sites where they operated and relevant dates. No indication of who wrote this, but it has handwritten notations. Highlights include (exactly as written):

Southampton, England
    Ohmar (sic? assuming this means Omaha) Beach

FRANCE
    St. Germaine de Varville - Jul 3, 1944
    Barneville sur mer - Jul 5
    Barneville de la Palace - Jul 7
    Montmartin sur mer - Aug 3
    Merlaix - Aug 24

BELGIUM
    Bastogne - Oct 3
    Arlon - Dec 20
    Charleville (France) - Dec 22
    Neaufchateau - Jan 23, 1945
    Bastogne (*underlined*) - Feb 6
    Arlon - Feb 17

GERMANY
    Adeneau - Mar 15
    Polch - Mar 26
    Diez - Apr 1
    Rotenburg - Apr 8