Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

New WWII enthusiast! - Melissa

Discussion in '☆☆ New Recruits ☆☆' started by mellybee88, Nov 26, 2010.

1. mellybee88

mellybee88 recruit

Hello all,

My name's Melissa and I'm a grad student in biochemistry. Over the past year or so, I've spent a lot of my free time reading books on WWII and individual memoirs, and I'm becoming a bit of a WWII enthusiast. I think it started with watching HBO's "Band of Brothers" and being engrossed by every minute of it. I'm a scientist and not a history expert or anything, but I think what fascinates me about WWII most are the stories of real people - real people who showed bravery and selflessness against all odds. I think that the war often showed that even in the middle of horrific violence, the best of humanity came through.

I joined the forum today because I want to learn more about the experiences of my grandfathers. I have limited information to go on, and I'm hoping that some of you experts might be able to help me! Eventually I'd really like to put together like a scrapbook or webpage tribute to them both. I've been home this week from school for Fall Break and was lucky enough to uncover a box of memorabilia in my dad's attic (416th Bomb Squadron, dad's father), and believe it or not my grandmother pulled out a similar box from her closet (VIII Army Corps, Warrant Officer, mom's father).

So excited to start learning more about their experiences! Thanks in advance for any help =)

Melissa

2. LRusso216

LRusso216 Graybeard Staff Member

Hello again, Melissa. It's nice to see a more detailed explanation of your interests. I did provide some details on your maternal grandfather in your other post. I would suggest you create two threads in the Information Requests forum; one for each grandfather, using their names as thread titles. Tell us what you know and what you have, and we'll do our best to answer your questions.

Good luck.