Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Questions about WWII artifacts

Discussion in 'WWII General' started by jhermann, Oct 30, 2018.

1. jhermann

jhermann New Member

Good morning, all. My name is Jim Hermann and I am a high school history teacher. First of all, for all of you who have served, my sincerest gratitude on behalf of those of us who didn't.

My uncle, who passed away about a decade ago, was a medic in WWII and told me quite a few stories. Recently, his son (my cousin) found many artifacts that he brought home from the war. I was wondering if any of you would be so kind as to tell us what they are or what they mean? That would mean a great deal to us as we try and celebrate the service of our uncle/father.

Thanks!

Jim

Attached Files:

• WWII.jpg
      WWII.jpg
      File size:
      208.9 KB
      Views:
    George Patton likes this.
  2. George Patton

George Patton Canadian Refugee

Clockwise from top left:
    1. US Army Good Conduct Medal and European–African–Middle Eastern Campaign Medal ribbon bars
    2. Luftwaffe (German Air Force) Obergefreiter collar rank insignia. Rank equivilant to Private First Class.
    3. One each additional Army Good Conduct Medal and European–African–Middle Eastern Campaign Medal ribbon bars
    4. Postwar commemorative civilian patch for the monastery ruin in Bad Hersfeld, Germany.
    5. Shoulder sleeve insignia insignia for First US Army. Appears to be Cold War era.

Items 1 through 3 are wartime, but 4 is certainly postwar and 5 is likely post war. Did he continue to serve into the Cold War? Or did he return to Germany after the war?

lwd likes this.
  3. jhermann

jhermann New Member

Alan-