Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

U Boat Batteries

Discussion in 'Submarines and ASW Technology' started by jagans, Aug 3, 2010.

1. jagans

jagans recruit

Hi Guys,

I am a VietNam Veteran, and as I approach my 64th birthday I am spending more and more time looking at history. I know that Hindsight is 20-20, but there are some things that seem so obvious to me, that the question has to be asked. If some of you old timers can answer this question, I would appreciate it.

It is my understanding that all of the batteries that were made for U-Boats were made by the Varta Corporation in two plants in Germany. It is also my understanding that these plants were never bombed by the allies. Why?

A U-Boat without batteries becomes a small, slow surface ship.

I suspect that Germany was probably way ahead of everyone else in battery technology, and probably sold their batteries to every other country, including the allies. The factories were therefore on the "no hit" list, as this would cut into the profits being made by the Military Industrial Complex of all countries involved in WW2

If I sound like a cynic, you are correct. Remember, I am a VietNam Vet.

2. LRusso216

LRusso216 Graybeard Staff Member Patron  

You can read bit about Allied raids on U-boat components (including batteries) here. The English is a bit stilted, but it can be understood. uboat.net - Technical pages

I'm not sure it directly answers your question, but it's food for thought.

By the way, I admire your cynicism. To me, it represents a healthy view of reality.

3. ULITHI

ULITHI Ace

Where were the two plants that made the batteries located?