Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Uboats with snorkal flaw

Discussion in 'Atlantic Naval Conflict' started by steverodgers801, Mar 31, 2012.

1. steverodgers801

steverodgers801 Member

A book pointed out that while the German last model subs could not be detected while under water they would not be able to see convoys with out being on the surface effectively.

2. Kai-Petri

Kai-Petri Kenraali

Yes, but previously they had to surface to get air and use the diesels. Now they never had to surface if necessary. And the wolf pack system ( incl other subs and planes ) told them where the ships were and going. It seems to me that the snorkel was giving some kinda advantage to the subs,

3. George Patton

George Patton Canadian Refugee

I'm not an expert on the U-Boats, but I don't believe the snorkel was designed for any purpose except to allow the boat to charge its batteries underwater. The only way to charge the electric batteries required for underwater operation was to run the diesel engines. Prior to the snorkel, this had to be done while surfaced, and this process would take many hours and leave the u-boat in a very vulnerable position.

A snorkel is basically just a retractable pipe with a splash guard on the top. I'm 99% sure that the designers never thought of it as a tool to allow the u-boat to find convoys effectively underwater. Based on that, this isn't a "design flaw", in my opinion.

4. steverodgers801

steverodgers801 Member

The flaw is that while the Uboat could remain under, that also meant its ability to see ships was restricted.

5. George Patton

George Patton Canadian Refugee

I understand that, but the snorkel itself was a success. Perhaps its implementation led to an overall tactical oversight (limited ability to see ships at a distance), but the actual snorkel technology itself was not flawed.

Best Regards,

6. Erich

Erich Alte Hase

7. Takao

Takao Ace