Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

What if Germany relies on the Panzer IV/Stug III/Tiger I for the duration of the war?

Discussion in 'What If - Other' started by Wolfy, Feb 22, 2009.

1. Wolfy

Wolfy Ace

Instead of all those endless, almost pointless tank designs and production runs.

Would Germany be victorious in the battle of Kursk, and, at the very least, the Soviet counteroffensive would be defeated?

I would answer this question myself but I am not a Kursk expert.

I get the impression that for the German Panzer Arm, fuel seemed to be more precious than the machines themselves since only a small fraction of the German war economy was devoted to AFV.

With the Panther tank consuming 40% more fuel than a Panzer IV, many more medium tanks could be delivered into attack during strategic missions. Logistics within the Panzer Arm would be simplified. German infantrymen would get far more support, maybe up to double or more not only due to the high reliability of the Panzer IV compared to the horrible reliability of the Panther but also due to the vastly increased numbers of tanks in general.

The Panther tank, though impressive in theory, was actually prone to continuous breakdowns and has been described as a serious Nazi strategic failure, particularly in the German defense plan post Kursk. The Panthers were usually not operational and German units lost a lot of their tank support and were pushed back by Soviet armor forces.

When operational, the Panther proved itself in the Eastern front, but its advantages in front armor and excellent gun were nullified in the Italian and Western fronts against the Allies.

Ironically, it performed worse than Panzer IVs in the Ardennes offensive, due to its fuel hungry engine, less reliability, and the fact that all the close combat that negated its advantages.

2. Carl W Schwamberger

Carl W Schwamberger Ace