Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Family Records

Discussion in 'Information Requests' started by Piat, Aug 1, 2008.

1. Piat

Piat Member

Hey people I hope this is the right section for this post.

Well like a lot of peoples relatives my Grandad served in the British army during the Burma Campaign during WWII, and he lived throughout the war but sadly died during the 1990s. My Great Grandad also serviced during WWI but it's my Grandad's history during WWII/Burma I'm interested in.

Any how I was wondering if my family would be able to get access to his service record, from the MoD possible is that right? I'm fascinating by any information I can gain about him so any help on how to get this would be grateful.

P.S in his service record would a photo of him when he joined the army be included? I've been a student of WWII now for about 2 years and little details like this ellude me.

2. wtid45

wtid45 Ace

Hi Piat and welcome my dad served in burma and im trying to get his service records. Try this veterans-uk.info/service_records you have to be next of kin or get written permisson from who is, when applying to glasgow will post more info when i find forms i have to send about my dad do you know where in burma your grandad served? kind regards. Jason

3. Piat

Piat Member

Thanks for the website link I'll give it a proper read over later. Sorry I don't know where exactly in Burma he served, I believe he was an engineer that's about all I know. I don't think he spoke about the war much after it I think he just got on with life and didn't bother to bring it up, so I don't have a lot of information to go on.

4. Piat

Piat Member

Does anyone else have any info? Do you get a photo with a service record? any help is grateful, thanks

5. GPRegt

GPRegt Member

Welcome. There are two forms that need to be completed. You will need your Grandfather's Date of Birth or Service Number.