Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

grease guns and tommy guns

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by A-58, Dec 28, 2008.

1. A-58

A-58 Cool Dude

I went to a gun show in New Orleans last weekend, and saw a US grease gun and Thompson on sale/display. I am not an expert on weapons at all, and I was wondering if anyone out there would know if the posted prices of $18,000 for the grease gun and $28,000 for the Thompson was about right or on the high side? The Thompson was the model that used the drum, not a magazine. They looked nice.

2. Hufflepuff

Hufflepuff Semi-Frightening Mountain Goat

I'm not sure on the exact prices, but from my knowledge a Tommy would be more expensive than a Grease Gun, since it's made to a much higher engineering standard than the Grease Gun, which was designed to be mass-produced.

3. C.Evans

C.Evans Expert

The Grease Guns price is high. I saw one at a San Antonio show several months ago-for about 1/2 that price-9 grand. A Tommygun can go for much more depending on what comes w/ it.

4. JBaum

JBaum Member

A WW2 Thompson 1928 (drum or mag) is certainly under $20,000. The M1A Thompson (stick mag only) is certainly less. It would seem the guy didn't want to sell the guns, unless a fool would pay far more than what they're worth.
    An early Colt Thompson could be fairly priced at $28,000, but I'd guess it wasn't an early Colt Thompson.

5. C.Evans

C.Evans Expert

Repos & Commemerative maybe-not the originals.

6. JBaum

JBaum Member

A West Hurley Thompson model 1928 is in the $14,000 range. I recently saw a Savage (WWII, model 1928) Thompson for $18,500, and it wasn't in bad shape, either. Selling prices have dropped a few thousand in the last 2 years - asking prices haven't, but what the seller wants and what he'll take has a bit more spread than it used to.

What is a reproduction Thompson? Do you mean a "West Hurley"? It's not a reproduction. It's not marked WW2, and it shoots real bullets.