• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 deflep86

deflep86

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 6 posts

Posted 24 March 2009 - 04:42 AM

Im doing some research on my great grandfather who was wounded in France on dec 6 1944, and died dec 8. He was in A company, 157th infantry, 45th division. From what ive read the 45th division was fighting through the Saverne Gap around late november 1944 and took Mertzwiller on dec 5. Im trying to get some more details on the position of the 157th during the beginning of december so i can get a better idea of where my grandfather was when he was wounded. Im sure the information is floating around somewhere but i was unable to find anything by using the search. Please be patient with my never ending supply of ignorance when it comes to WW2. Although im interested in the war i am by no means an expert. Thanks in advance for any kind of help.

#2 A-58

A-58

Cool Dude

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,262 posts
  • LocationBaton Rouge, Louisiana

Posted 25 March 2009 - 07:39 AM

Ok, here goes.

The US 157th Infantry Regiment of the Colorado National Guard was called into federal service at Denver, Colorado on 26 Sept 40 as part of the 45th Infantry Division. The division assembled at Ft. Sill, Oklahoma, and began training. It participated in several stateside manuevers before receiving orders for shipment overseas. The 45th landed in North Africa on 22 Jun 43 and continued training in preparation of the invasion of Sicily. It assaulted Scoglitti, Sicily 9-11 Sept 43, Salerno, Italy 9 Sept 44, Anzio, Italy 22 Jan 44 and then Southern France 15 Aug 44.

Now we'll go to the combat narrative for the time frame that you are looking for in particular.

"The division moved up to the Saverne Gap on 23 Nov 44 and captured the forts north of Mutzig in the Maginot Line on 25 Nov 44 and moved up to the Moder when it took Mertzwiller in heavy combat on 5 Dec 44." *