Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

SVT-40? Worthwhile to Purchase?

Discussion in 'Weapons' started by George Patton, Mar 7, 2011.

1. George Patton

George Patton Canadian Refugee

I am considering purchasing an SVT-40. It's stamped "1942", with the Tula Arsenal markings. The asking price is around $300 CAD, and it appears to be in decent condition (its probably around average for a gun that is 65+ years old). I have to analyze the action/barrel again, but it appeared to be in good shape.

A question for those that own one: how does it shoot? I have read a few conflicting reports - some complaining about its reliability and the rough feel to it, while others say its pretty good. I wouldn't be firing it that often, so it would mainly just be for the historical value.

Also, I am no expert on WWII Soviet guns, so how does the price sound? I did a search on the internet, and it appears the average price for a good one is around $600. Again, I'll have to have another look at it, but I think it sounds like a good deal.

Thanks for the assistance everyone,
    Alan

2. Black6

Black6 Member

SVT-40's generally dont sell for less than $800 USD, so I would recommend you take the one that is offered to you. I just saw a nice SVT-40 sell for $1000 and a not that nice SVT-38 sell for $2200

3. George Patton

Thanks for the advice. From what I know, the SVTs are cheaper up here in Canada (US has stricter import regulations for Eastern European/Russian arms), but it still seems like a good deal. I might have another look at it later on today, just to make sure everything looks good on it.

4. texson66

texson66 Ace

[video=youtube;mGidf_tl6uk]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mGidf_tl6uk[/video]

5. Gebirgsjaeger

Gebirgsjaeger Ace

Alan,

those rifles are normally a great buy and good fun. Control it, if possible shoot it, buy it!

6. George Patton