smithfam656

recruit

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 12 April 2012 - 03:06 AM

[h=2][/h]

Hi Everyone,

My grandfather passed away earlier this week, age 94. I had to dig up his Honorable Discharge paperwork for his funeral and I am finding it so interesting. If someone could help me understand it a little better, that would be wonderful. I am new to researching this type of information so any help is welcomed :-)

Grade- CPL
Arm or Service-CWS
Componet-AUS
Organization- 9710th Technical Service Unit
Date of Separation- 3 Mar 46
Place of Separation-Ft Geo G Meade MD
Date of Induction-9 Apr 43
Military Occupation Specialty and No- Munitions Worker 901
Military Qualification and Date- SS M-1 Rifle
Battles and Campaigns-None
Decorations and Citations- Good Conduct Medal, American Theater Ribbon, World War II Victory Ribbon
Wounds-None
Total Length of Service-2 years 10 months 18 days
Reason and Authority for Separation-AR 615-365 15 Dec 44 and RR1-1
Remarks-Lapel Button Issued, No days lost under AW107, ASR Score 41

I would love to understand the pay data as well,
Longevity 2 years 10 months 25 days, Mustering out pay, $200, This payment $100, Soldier deposits $0, Travel Pay $7.45, Total amount, 223.29

Thank you in advance!

Alicia

#2 Buten42

Buten42

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 647 posts

Posted 12 April 2012 - 04:46 AM

Alicia,
I took a WWII separation paper and explained it box by box to help explain all the acronyms and termonalogy. I would love to upload it to the Forum but it's too large. Until I can figure a way to acomplish that with my limited computer skills, I'll have to attach it to an email. I sent you an email and as soon as I get your reply I'll send it. It would take about 18 pages to explain everything you have listed--just happens to be the length of the attachment ;-)
Oh, welcome to the forum. Dave
War is sweet to those who have never experienced it.
Latin Proverb

#3 Buten42

Buten42

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip