19 replies to this topic

#1 Fire_spit

Fire_spit

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 05 September 2004 - 08:19 PM

Hi everyone,
I am new to the WWII forum and was referred to you by a friend from Armorama where I am having a lot of fun in scale modeling.
What I am trying to find out, with no luck yet, is the name of the commander of the WWII German pocket battle ship "Lutzow". This ship was originally called the Panzerschiffe Deutschland and then I believe if I remember this correctly was renamed in 1939 as the Lutzow.
I just purchased a WWII German double-sided postcard. On each side is a picture of Hitler posing with part of the crew under one of the big guns. On the other side is Hitler posing with two men and I am figuring one of those is most likely the commander of the ship. The other one I do now know who he is. Others have helped me correctly indentify the ship in the pictures but I would really like to know the name of the commander.
I have the picture inserted here below if you are interested in looking at it. If anyone can tell me who the two men are standing with Hitler are I would be thrilled.

Thanks,
Fire_spit
Posted Image
If the enemy is in range...SO ARE YOU!!

#2 TheRedBaron

TheRedBaron

Ace

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,122 posts

Posted 05 September 2004 - 09:11 PM

You found us then!

Which guy have you ID?

RED
"Watch that Fu*ker, he'll 'ave someones eye out!" King Harold at Hastings 1066.

#3 Fire_spit

Fire_spit

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 21 posts

Posted 05 September 2004 - 11:18 PM

Hi RedBaron,
Thanks for telling me about this forum and nice meeting you over here too.