Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

generalities about boot camps

Discussion in 'Military Training, Doctrine, and Planning' started by didiers, Oct 21, 2015.

1. didiers

didiers New Member

Hello I'm a writer developing a story about a WWII US soldier, and I have some general questions about the training period.
    My character is a 20 y.o. man who is enlisted just after Pearl Harbor. Ideally, I would like to have him sent to a boot camp near San Francisco. Where there boot camps in this area ?

Some general questions:
    - when a new recruit enters the army, is he directly affected to a specific company / regiment / division? or does it only come after his training ?
    - when he trains, is it always with the same "group" (company) ?
    - are all members of such a group sent to the same place once the training period comes to an end ?

Thanks in advance !

2. steverodgers801

steverodgers801 Member

Assuming its the same as when I joined in 1987. You are assigned to a platoon which is part of a company, brigade of a training division. After his training is done he is reassigned to a advance school for more specific training based on his specialty. Depending on the specialty most soldiers are then assigned to where there are needed as individuals. From Band of Brothers the men in the advanced training stayed together once they went to their regular unit.

3. Fred Wilson

Fred Wilson "The" Rogue of Rogues

4. bronk7

bronk7 Well-Known Member