Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

A war story as told by Iranian Army Captain H. Ebrahimi-Saeed

Discussion in 'Military History' started by TIRDAD, Mar 27, 2016.

1. TIRDAD

TIRDAD Active Member

A war story as told by Iranian Army Captain H. Ebrahimi-Saeed (retired);

Date: 26th September 1980
    Unit: 283rd Armoured Cavalry battalion, 92nd Armoured Division

I had been transferred to a forward operating location near the Iran-Iraq border 12 days before the commencement of hostilities. I was newly married and had no idea that an eight year long conflict would commence in a few weeks. I was worried about myself, family and my wife since this was the first time I was away from them, but I realized that I had a job to do.

on the 21st, at least two divisions of the Iraqi ground forces (10th armored div, 1st mechanized infantry div of the Iraqi Army) overran our front positions. I was a TOW missile operator at the time and my battalion was the 283rd Armoured Cav of the 92nd Armoured Division. As a TOW missilier, I think I was one of the first ones to fire and eventually destroy an Iraqi Tank. We were demoralized and almost surrounded. Yet, this first missile shot actually encouraged our battalion which in turn caused other TOW operators to muster enough courage and fire a salvo at the enemy Tanks. Our vulnerable recce Scorpion IFVs were firing non stop. It was fire works all over the place. 24 Hours later our division commander issued a tactical withdrawal order to all engaging units. Most of our units were overrun, out of ammo or food and as such they had no chance to survive the Iraqi onslaught. So the withdrawal order made sense. We were determined to regroup east of the vitally important 'Karun' river in order to re-attack enemy troops or armored vehicles. The incoming Iraqi fire was just too overwhelming to maintain our initial positions.