Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Flak 88

Discussion in 'Weapons & Technology in WWII' started by denny, Mar 27, 2016.

1. denny

denny Member

I could not find much info on Wiki... and do not recall Hearing/Reading any specific mention about the anti-tank rounds.
    As I understand, it was developed as a Anti-Aircraft weapon. But that uses a Very Different shell than anti tank needs require.
    You can not just tip the gun sideways and shoot tanks, so Who/When was the anti-tank round developed.....how did that come about exactly.?
    Thank You

2. belasar

belasar Court Jester

Before the war.

3. FalkeEins

FalkeEins Member

..a couple of recent Ebay finds - Flakabt.182 Blumental-Berlin schwere 8,8 cm Flak in Stellung, 1940, and below a live-firing training exercise which seems to show just that..

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Poppy and belasar like this.
  4. denny

denny Member

Guess I am a poor writer.....not (just) talking about Physically turning the gun.....shooting the anti-aircraft round at tanks did not make it a tank killer. Later, somebody had to think of laying the gun down and making a different type of round for the 88.

5. belasar

belasar Court Jester

Part of the Rommel mythology is that he 'discovered' how useful the 88 was in the anti-tank role during the British counter attack at Arras when the standard anti-tank guns (37mm, 50mm) could not stop the thick armored Matilda's. The problem is that they already had AT rounds (remember Flak rounds would basically be fragmentation) on hand in May 1940. For them to be standard issue and crews trained in their use, they would have to be in the pipeline for a considerable time.

Used a little google-fu and wiki indicates that its anti-vehicle/bunker buster capacity was noted during the Spanish Civil War.

6. Sheldrake

Sheldrake Member