Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Brock's Rangers And The Somme

Discussion in 'Military History' started by GRW, Dec 13, 2016.

1. GRW

GRW Pillboxologist WW2|ORG Editor

Hadn't head this story before,
    "I will soon be leaving for a trip to Canada but the country is neither new or unfamiliar to me. I have been travelling to Canada for over 50 years and until the recent death of a family member, it was my second home. Like many Scots, our family emigrated to Canada in the 1950s – later editions of the Diaspora Scots.

The perceived wisdom of the time was that by crossing the great Atlantic our family would have new opportunities made available to us thus ensuring a better standard of living and health.

There was, of course, a great sense of adventure and romanticism about moving to a country with grizzly bears, wolves, beavers, very high mountains and enormous lakes, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and “Red Indians”.

But now I cringe with embarrassment and feel a sense of outrage when I hear terms such as “Redskins”, “Red Indians”, “Indians” to describe the indigenous population, now correctly termed the First Nations Peoples of Canada.

The traditions and respect for the environment of the First Nations have long been a source of interest and wonderment to me. However, it was a chance remark that led me to inquire if there was substance to a story that claimed Canada’s First Nations First World War soldiers donated money to Scottish Great War veterans. What I eventually discovered was the little known history of a First Nations battalion in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, the 114th Haldimand Rifles, also known as Brock’s Rangers, and their war-time relationship with Scotland.