Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

The fixed Coaxial machinegun on the tank turret

Discussion in 'WWII General' started by Wolfy, Jun 25, 2009.

1. Wolfy

Wolfy Ace

How were these effective and what was its main purpose?

I looked at the internal design schemes of these guns and they appear as merely a fixed hole right next to the main cannon. While I understand how the forward machineguns (fired by the radio operator) is useful due to ball mount, the fixed MG confuses me. It has less shooting flexibility than the main cannon and the entire turret would have to line up and carefully rotate in order to track targets.

What I'm saying is that it seems more like a marginally useful bullet hose. It probably can't do much except pelt a certain area ineffectually before the HE is fired.

*The Hole*

[​IMG]

2. Vanir

Vanir Member

Here is the sum of what I've read, though I've no personal experience in military armoured corps.

When the sights are knocked out or poor ones are fitted the coaxial MG is used to sight the main weapon. It is also useful for infantry defence of course, as the field of fire is roughly the same as the main gun, where a hull mounted weapon even on a ball mount is far more restrictive. If you were intending to lay down dedicated machine gun fire however, a pintle mounted weapon on the roof would do best.
    Allied tanks sometimes have a light MG on a pintle mount for this purpose in addition to the pintle mounted heavy-MG for AA defence.
    German MG are a bonus because they're dual purpose due to rate of fire, particularly the MG42 (MG34 were preferred for integral weapons however due to build quality).

3. Slipdigit

Slipdigit Good Ol' Boy Staff Member WW2|ORG Editor

Pretty much like Vanir said. It allowed the crew to "bore sight" the main gun, as the mg fire would hit roughly where the main gun would.

Have no idea how often this would be used. Maybe one of the armor wonks can answer it.