Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

CM on Windows 7

Discussion in 'Combat Mission' started by sommecourt, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. sommecourt

    sommecourt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    57
    Do CMBB or CMAK work on Windows 7?
     
    PzJgr likes this.
  2. Tomcat

    Tomcat The One From Down Under

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    266
    I don't know, since windows 7 is relatively new, it probably hasn't even been tested yet by most people.
     
  3. PzJgr

    PzJgr Drill Instructor

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2000
    Messages:
    8,378
    Likes Received:
    883
    Location:
    Jefferson, OH
    Ah the question finally asked.....but alas, no answer
     
  4. sommecourt

    sommecourt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    57
    Ok, will have to bite the bullet and try it. I never installed on my Vista machine; did it work there?
     
  5. sniper1946

    sniper1946 Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,560
    Likes Received:
    1,017
  6. Tomcat

    Tomcat The One From Down Under

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    266
    I have been going through the battlefront website (curtisy of sniper) and from everything I have seen, you shouldn't have problems with windows 7, but it will depend on your drivers for your machine and what type of hardware you have. What is your graphics card?
     
  7. Paulverisor64

    Paulverisor64 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know that Windows 7 will give any specific issues with Combat Mission, but an ATI potentially can give you fits.

    I personally had a nightmare until I disabled crossfire.

    I do have one issue where there are 5 strange shaped boxes on the screen.

    I did not have any issues with my Nvidia 8800 card.
     
  8. sommecourt

    sommecourt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    57
    Thanks for all that. It is an ATI so it might cause some issues. Will have to see!
     
  9. Tomcat

    Tomcat The One From Down Under

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048
    Likes Received:
    266
    I know that with Combat Mission if you are using anything higher then a Nividia 8000 it could cause graphic errors due to the game installing direct x 8 (i believe it to be) while windows and the newer cards use direct X 10. There should be a patch, 1.04 I believe it is, but you would have to check.
     
  10. Paulverisor64

    Paulverisor64 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I understand the 1.04 patch only helps Vista users and you have to pay for it.

    Hopefully CMBB will be issue free for you.
     
  11. Bootie

    Bootie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    3
    BB and AK both work fine for me on Windows 7.
     
    sommecourt likes this.
  12. orcrist

    orcrist recruit

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a Lenovo x120e netbook a month ago with the intent to install CMBB and CMAK. It came with Windows 7. Both games installed and started up fine, but in the game I had a strange black rectangle at the top center of the screen. Moving the map around would cause any text (like place labels) that happens to go through the rectangle to be copied into the rectangle. Searching through the Battlefront forums, there was a suggestion to install the 1.04 patch for a similar problem. I did and the problem was resolved. Note that the Lenovo x120e comes with integrated ATI (AMD) graphics.
     
  13. Mussolini

    Mussolini Gaming Guru WW2|ORG Editor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Messages:
    5,732
    Likes Received:
    559
    Location:
    Festung Colorado
    If you purchased the game prior to 2009, then you need the $5 Vista patch for the games to work on W7.

    Purchasing post-2009, the game automatically comes with the patch (can get CMBB and CMAK for $40 total from battlefront.com). I'm starting work once more so am getting back into playing CMAK and CMBB via PBEM. On a W7 Machine and both work fine.
     

Share This Page