Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Radial aircraft engine survival.

Discussion in 'Aircraft' started by gtblackwell, May 22, 2010.

1. gtblackwell

gtblackwell Member Emeritus

I have read more than a few accounts of a radial losing a cylinder , off the block, and continuing to fly. Stories are sometinmes related to P-47's. I am not an engineer but is this even possible. The piston and connecting rod would try to rotate and would either jamb the block or break off themselves, then the engine would go out of balance and lose oil would it not ? I would love to here verified accounts of this happening. It is possible for it to shear off all the extraneous parts and continue to make power?

GB

2. Sentinel

Sentinel Member

I've heard stories of this happening, too. If only one of the cylinder heads was shot off, the piston and oil would still be safe, though the cylinder wouldn't deliver any power. However, if an inline engine lost a chunk of cylinder head, it would soon lose all its coolant and overheat. That is one plausible explanation.

3. brndirt1

brndirt1 Saddle Tramp

The part one must remember is that each piston has its own "jug" inside of which it operates, and the connecting rod is VERY short. Without the "jug" itself the piston will disappear (it is aluminum), and the connecting rod will just "clatter" around inside of its short stroke.

If a single "jug" is blown off, it isn't impossible for the engine to continue to operate (roughly) since they hold no oil in a sump like a V or inline water-cooled. The oil is contained in a tank and supplied to the parts by a pressure pump. They won't loose their cooling ability, they won't loose their lubrication ability (for a time), and they will only loose the power of that particular cylinder and piston.