Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

Strategic bombing in Europe

Discussion in 'Air War in Western Europe 1939 - 1945' started by cksvnsk, Oct 26, 2014.

1. cksvnsk

cksvnsk New Member

Hi,

Based on what criteria were scheduled within a given mission day the bombings in Europe in WW2? I'm better acquainted with USAF schedules, i.e., daytime missions, but I still cannot understand how the time of the day was selected. Sometimes, briefings were held 0400, with the take-off two hours later, some other times the briefing was 0600, with the take off 1100, etc. These schedules don't seem to correlate with the distance to the target.
    That being said about USAF, I know basically nothing about the corresponding RAF effort. How were these scheduled, what criteria were used for selecting the missions' time at night time?

Thanks!

Yours,
    cksvnsk

2. A-58

A-58 Cool Dude

I'm not an expert on the planning of bombing raids, but I suspect that the weather had a lot to do with things sometimes. It affected the take offs and the target area a great deal I would think. Perfect weather is always preferred in strategic bombing, and we all know that the weather does not always cooperate as much as we would like it to. Hopefully someone else with more insight will chip in for us.

3. mcoffee

mcoffee Son-of-a-Gun(ner)