Welcome to the WWII Forums! Log in or Sign up to interact with the community.

WWII Vehicle Guy

Discussion in '☆☆ New Recruits ☆☆' started by Houndsworth, Jan 27, 2020.

1. Houndsworth

Houndsworth New Member

Hi! I am a newbie to the site and will go by the name Houndsworth, I'll say what that means later. My main interest is WWII military vehicles plus US and British WWII uniforms, equipment, and tents. I started with a 1941 Indian 640 motorcycle in 1985 which is similar to the Harley Davidson WLA but much more rare. Still have it, and two jeeps plus several British BSA folding airborne bicycles - the common type, and early model, and an early-early one. Last year I sold my 1944 Ford M20 Armored Utility Car to focus on light vehicles. Early-on I started collecting US army uniforms and equipment to wear at displays and parades on the Indian. After I bought the first bicycle I started buying British items. My main source at the time was Major Jerry Lee when he was on active duty with Sixth Army at the Presidio of San Francisco. He was selling out of his basement. His business grew to be What Price Glory, focused on mostly US and British reproduction uniforms. He gave me a good discount and I bought multiples of a lot of things, so at the peak of my collection I was able to borrow 12 mannequins and dress them head to toe in different WWII British uniforms for display at three large Scottish festivals. Infantry, tanker, dispatch rider, parachutist, commando, snow camo trooper, Scottish soldiers, etc. All free standing on lawn. I have been active in the Military Vehicle Collectors of California this whole time but branched out into WWII reenacting for a short while, founding the 82nd Airborne unit in Northern California under the CHG with assistant unit leader Ray B. Fun but quit to focus on MV events.